Breaking News – English is Not Official Language

Many Americans support making English the country’s official language, as it is in at least twenty-eight states.  English is the national language for all intents and purposes.  The federal government has no official language.  U.S.
naturalization requires—standardizes English. Both Hawaiian and English are
official languages in Hawaii by state law.

New Mexico has laws providing for the use of both English and Spanish.  Louisiana has laws for use of English and French. Neither state has an official language.  Other states, such as California, mandate the publication of Spanish versions of certain government documents including court
forms. Several limited territories grant official recognition to their native
languages, along with English: Samoan and Chamorro are recognized by American Samoa and Guam, respectively; Carolinian and Chamorro are recognized by the Northern Mariana Islands; Spanish is an official language of Puerto Rico.

Dicker, Susan J. (2003). Languages in America: A Pluralist
View. Clevedon, UK: Multilingual Matters. pp. 216, 220–25. ISBN

California Code of Civil Procedure, Section 412.20(6)”.
Legislative Counsel, State of California.
“California Judicial Council Forms”. Judicial Council, State of


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s